Mid-Atlantic Collegiate Racquetball Conference


The Mid-Atlantic Collegiate Racquetball Conference (MACRC) was formed in April 2011.  Originally, the conference encompassed six states: Delaware, Maryland, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia. In 2016 the United States of America Racquetball Association added two other states to the MACRC: Kentucky and South Carolina.

During the initial phase, Phil Wheeler, the Regional Commissioner, visited several colleges to meet with club sports directors and other college staff members to gain support for the program. Initially nine college teams joined the conference. They included: the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, College of William and Mary, Liberty University, the University of Maryland, the University of North Carolina, North Carolina State University, Appalachian State University and Duke University, . Other colleges that have joined include:  Blue Ridge Community College, Virginia Western Community College, Colorada Tech (an On-Line student residing in Virginia), Virginia Military Institute, Washington  and Lee University,  Old Dominion University, Ferrum College, James Madison University, Radford University, East Carolina University, North Carolina Central University, and the University of South Carolina.  

The first MACRC tournament took place at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill September 20, 2011 where sixty-five students from eleven colleges participated.  Approximately 150 matches were conducted in both men’s and women’s singles and doubles divisions. In five and half years the MACRC has almost doubled the number for student participation at a single tournament where 112 students participated at the third tournament of the 2016/2017 season at North Carolina State University. The number of matches scheduled increased to approximately 300 for that tournament.  The tournaments operate in the Olympic format thereby guaranteeing each participant multiple matches in their divisions. Any full-time, part-time or graduate student may enter the tournament earning points toward being named an individual college champion. Additionally, points are earned for the college team leading to an award for the collegiate men’s team champion, women’s team champion and overall college champion. To compete for the latter, a college must field both a men’s and women’s team. 

For more information about the MACRC please contact:

Phil Wheeler, Commissioner



Greg Leeman, Assistant Commissioner 



Bonny Wheeler, Assistant Commissioner



540-354-9970 (c)